About All My Little Words

What could be more ironic than naming my blog after the futility of words?

Dana DuBois
3 min readApr 16, 2023
A splendid butterly
I am a splendid butterfly. Photo by Fleur on Unsplash

I Needed a Writing Moniker

I started this blog last fall as Once a Week Vegan, sharing my weekly recipes and thoughts on how incremental change can move the world.

But I never intended to run a cooking blog. The world certainly has enough of those, run by far superior cooks to me. I launched Once a Week Vegan as a way to test Medium as a content platform (I like it), while I sorted through my thoughts of what I really wanted to be writing about (turns out, basically everything).

All I needed next was a new moniker. Of course, my thoughts turned to song lyrics…

The Perfect Irony of All My Little Words

I went with “All My Little Words,” one of my favorite songs from my favorite album of all time, the Magnetic Fields’ 69 Love Songs.

The name feels fitting as this will be where I share all my little words. I appreciate the built-in humility in the name, and that it works whether you recognize the musical reference or not.

Sure, the song’s lyrics are about the futility of words changing someone’s heart or mind. Some many consider this inauspicious.

--

--

Dana DuBois

Publisher for Pink Hair & Pronouns and Three Imaginary Girls. Boost nominator. I'm a GenX word nerd living in the PNW with a whole lot of little words to share.